Posts

The Time I Took A $400,000 Bentley To The Bus Station

Image
When somebody offers to let you stay in their penthouse at the St. Regis in New York City, say yes. Don’t worry about work or transportation. Quit if you have to and walk if you must, but by all means, say yes. And when the bellhop rolls up in a $400,000 Bentley to take you to the bus station? Say yes again.
Here’s how it happened. I was living in Washington, DC, a few years ago, and my aunt and uncle invited my mother and me to spend a few days with them at the St. Regis in New York. My mother flew up from her home in Phoenix, and I took the bus up from DC.
Some people say that staying the St. Regis is like staying at a palace. This is not true and those people are stupid. It’s much nicer than a palace. To be fair, it’s like a palace in two ways: 1) the butlers, and 2) Elton John routinely stays there. I didn’t see him, but you bet I looked.
As nice as the hotel was, what I remember most about staying there was spending time with my family. While running to catch a Broadway play, we al…

What happens in Vegas stays in Vegas, but it's hard to forget the dead bodies.

Image
I was born in Las Vegas, and despite the dead bodies, mafia encounters, and dangerous lizards, I remember my childhood as remarkably ordinary, almost boring. I was raised in Henderson, just south of Las Vegas, and although the two cities are now indistinguishable, this was not always the case. When I was young, Vegas was the Rat Pack, mafia, and neon glitz. Henderson was a blue-collar, gritty, working-class town populated largely by Mormons who worked at the petrochemical plants in the desert between the two cities. Las Vegas celebrated The Strip with gambling and showgirls. Henderson celebrated Industrial Days — an actual holiday — with a carnival and parade. The industrial complex is hidden now, the old desert buffer filled with miles of identical houses. You’d have to know the factories were there to see them. People still work there, but the cities try to hide the blue collars. Henderson no longer celebrates Industrial Days; it celebrates Heritage Days. I grew up in a small house on …

Book Launch!

Image
Get The End of the World Is Rye on Amazon, Indie Bound or at your favorite book store, and don't forget to check it out on Facebook and Goodreads.

The End of the World Is Rye is Available Today!

Image
It's finally here! Get your copy at Amazon, Barnes & Noble, IndieBound, your favorite bookstore or check it out at your local library! Don't forget to mark it on Goodreads and like it on Facebook.

What would you do for the perfect sandwich? Kill? Die? Well, if you were a rogue angel, you might cause the Apocalypse. And it looks like that's just what this darkly funny fantasy's rogue angel is about to do when he lands in a polygamist cult in Utah. Now it's up to the rest of God's divine posse, including Jesus and Lucifer, to save all of existence from certain destruction. In his debut novel, Brett Cottrell takes you on a provocative, celestial roller coaster ride that will have you laughing on the edge of your seat all the way to the gates of Hell.

Rosarium Publishing Betting on Multicultural Novels and Comics

Image
Publishers Weekly just interviewed my publisher, Bill Campbell from Rosarium, about the importance of multiculturalism in literature and comics.

This quote from the article says it all:

“Yes, I am an African-American publisher, but it’s also important to me that a Native American creator has this outlet, or a Mormon, or a Latino.” Campbell said. “For me, it’s imperative that people are able to tell their own stories. They can build their own tables rather than ask for a place at the table,” he said."


The End of the World is Rye.By Brett Cottrell. Available June 2015.Pre-order it now!

What would you do for the perfect sandwich? Kill? Die? Well, if you were a rogue angel, you might cause the Apocalypse. And it looks like that's just what this darkly funny fantasy's rogue angel is about to do when he lands in a polygamist cult in Utah. Now it's up to the rest of God's divine posse, including Jesus and Lucifer, to save all of existence from certain destruction. In his d…

Rosarium Publishing Call for Submissions

Image
Call for Submissions
Deadline: February 28th, 2015
Rosarium Publishing

Rosarium is seeking comics, illustrations, prose, and essays for an anthology against police brutality.

"APB: Artists against Police Brutality is a comic book anthology with one primary goal: show pictures and tell stories that get people talking. We are looking for artists across the disciplines to lend their talents and critical eye for this artistic examination of the US justice system and its treatment of communities of color. We are looking for personal stories, biographies, sociopolitical and historical analysis that shed a light on shared experiences across these communities, not just to act as an echo chamber, but to be used to change minds outside of these communities."

Click here for more information or check out the APB Facebook page.

The End of the World is Rye - Available from Rosarium Publishing June 2015

Image
I'm happy to announce that my debut novel, The End of the World is Rye, will be available from Rosarium Publishing in June 2015.

"The End of the World Is Rye is a top-notch urban fantasy. Funny and sharp, it doesn't choke a good story in whimsy. Fans of Preacher and Sandman will have a great time with this one." -- Garrett Cook, Time Pimp
What would you do for the perfect sandwich? Kill? Die?
Well, if you were a rogue angel, you might just cause the Apocalypse. And it looks like that's just what he's about to do when he lands in a polygamist cult in Utah. So, now it's up to the rest of God's divine posse, including Jesus and Lucifer, to save all of existence from certain destruction.
In his debut novel, Brett Cottrell takes you on a provocative, celestial roller coaster ride that will have you laughing on the edge of your seat all the way to the gates of Hell.